Entry #7 – October 19, 2015

My mother and I went to the department store to buy clothes on Saturday. Not so much exciting as incredibly irritating for both of us. At least when I stop growing soon I won’t have to buy as many new clothes. I’m big enough to wear some of my father’s old shirts, but they’re incredibly uncomfortable. They all have tags, and even when you try and cut the tags off there’s still a bit of it left that tends to feel like its jabbing right into your neck. And some of the shirts have buttons, which means I have to get a T-shirt to wear under them anyway because they bother me, and most are long-sleeved which sometimes makes my arms feel like they’re suffocating. At least his pants mostly fit me and are comfortable, Mark has the same problems with full-length pants that I do with long sleeves. The problem with that is that I can wear a loose coat to cover my arms in the winter, but he has to wear large bulky snow pants through most of the fall and into the spring. My mother mostly has issues with certain fabrics; she can’t stand wearing anything made with wool for example. At least I don’t have their problems too.

To be honest, the whole shopping experience was exhausting. First, you have to find the section your clothes are in, then you have to see if you can find clothes that might fit you, then you have to try them on to see if they do. Since clothes don’t come in every size, they are never going to fit perfectly. For example, if you have a 33-inch waist, do you get 32-inch or 34-inch pants? I suppose you could get the 34-inch ones and have the waist adjusted, but then the rest of the upper section of the pants is still designed for person with a larger waist. And then there’s the fact that even when they are the same brand and size sometimes clothes have slight differences, so even when you find one that fits you still have to try on others that should be exactly the same but aren’t.

So the entire process is trying on one ill-fitting piece of clothing after another, which must be a pain normally but is even more so when you have touch sensitivities. At least shirts aren’t made with loose tags anymore. Luckily, I was able to find three shirts and a couple of pairs of pants, and they’ll hopefully last me for at least a year. My mother also found what she was looking for, so she took our clothes to the checkout computer and we were finally able to leave. In case you were wondering, yes my parents buy my clothes. For one thing, I don’t have a job so I don’t have much money outside of Christmas and birthday gifts. But more importantly, if they didn’t pay for the clothes I’d just keep wearing the ones I own even as they stop fitting just so I don’t have to go through this process again.

(Back to the Table of Contents)

