Entry #19 – January 18, 2016

The good news is that I passed all of my tests. I’m very disappointed that I got a C in geometry; I’m so used to getting As in math. The most important one, not yours sorry, was passing the written driver’s test. I can’t start practicing for over another three months, but at least one step is out of the way. Mark already has his first lesson scheduled for next week; as expected there’s a bit of crowding of people trying to get in at the moment. I’m very interested to know what he thinks of the experience.

The bad news is that it’s the beginning of a new semester, which means change. At least only two classes are changing, with music replaced by art (because apparently music isn’t an art form) and physical education replacing driver’s education. I would prefer to have an actual education class instead of gym, but laws are laws and there’s nothing I can do about it. But my main concern is with the issue of change itself.

Admittedly, all of these changes were ones I was aware of long in advance. However, it still means an adjustment to my routine, from the routes I walk to classes to changes in the amount of homework I have to deal with. It’s much worse at the start of the school year when I have to figure out all of those things for eight new classes instead of two, and I was able to manage it. And I was able to do it last year, and in middle school and elementary school, so I think I’ll be fine. Planned changes happen often and, while difficult, are manageable.

Unplanned changes can really cause a great deal of stress though. For example, my parents talked about having to take pop quizzes when they were in school; if I had to take a surprise quiz I’d be so stressed and anxious that even if I knew the answers I might not be able to write them down. And I know the reactions of other kids would be worse than that. Another thing schools used to have were unscheduled fire drills, which I’m guessing probably annoyed teachers as much as students. You’re all prepared to get through class, then you’re being pulled out to an unexpected loud ringing noise while wondering if the school is really on fire or not. Obviously we still have drills, but you have to warn us the day before. Even minor disruptions like these can cause great discomfort when not planned for. That’s one of the best parts about going on break; the fact that you have few disruptions. Now, my parents could cause disruptions by demanding that I do a chore without warning, but they know me well enough to avoid that except if they really need to. If they really need me to do something unexpectedly, I’m able to do it, it just won’t be done very well and will probably have to recharge for a while afterwards.

(Back to the Table of Contents)

