Entry #39 – June 13, 2016

The first couple of days of last week were quiet at our lunch table. Paul would try and start a conversation, or Mark would comment about a story from work, but we mostly just sat and ate our food and looked at our laptops. On Wednesday Paul told us he was going to sit with some of the kids he knows from gym and invited us to come with him. Mark, who already knew who they were, went with him, but I stayed behind. It was a week and a half away from the end of the school year, and I didn’t want to try fitting in with a new social group during such a short period of time. Plus, it gives me an opportunity to more easily study for finals during lunch this week.

Five days later I’m not sure if I made the right choice. Did Mark take my rejection to mean that I didn’t want to be friends with him at all anymore? I wouldn’t think so, but he hasn’t called since that day. Then again, it has only been five days, and it isn’t like he calls me that often anyway. I still won’t join them this year because of the reasons I previously specified. Next year I may, but I don’t know if they’d still want to deal with me by then. Maybe Mark would rather deal with people he can play sports with during summer evenings instead of being inside playing video games with me. Maybe both of them feel like I made the wrong decision not talking to Kat, although it would have been nice of them to have given me that advice if so. I mean, I don’t want to sound too dramatic since it’s just as likely that Mark will ask me to come over on the first day after school. I’ll just have to wait and see.

In the meantime, I have a whole period where I can study in more peace, even though the lunch room is still filled with people talking making it sort of difficult. Since I’m planning on spending most of the time at home studying Geometry so I can bring my grade up there, I can use this time to review your class and gym. I can’t believe that we have to take a test for gym, are they going to make sure we can tell the difference between a leg press and a squat, or all the muscles you exercise when you do a push-up, or how many kilometers are we running when we run a mile? Now that I think about it, I’m not sure if I know the answers to the first two because they didn’t spend much time in gym actually teaching us anything. I know that it’s a written test and not a physical examination test at least, hopefully the teacher will upload notes sometime between now and Thursday. Otherwise, I may fail gym, which would be rather embarrassing if it didn’t also mean everybody else would fail it too.

(Back to the Table of Contents)

